ABOUT S.NET

The Society for the Studies of New and Emerging Technologies (S.NET) is an international association that promotes intellectual exchange and critical inquiry about the advancement of new and emerging technologies in society. S.NET represents diverse communities, disciplines, viewpoints, and methodologies in the social sciences and humanities. It also welcomes contributions from scientists and engineers that advance the critical reflection of nanoscience and other emerging technologies. Due to its multidisciplinary approach, the S.NET community addresses a broad range of questions related to the development and societal embedding of new and emerging technologies, including, but not limited to the following themes:

event info image of a computer component

2018 EVENT

Anticipatory Technologies: Data and Disorientation, the 10th annual S.NET meeting will take place in Maastricht, the Netherlands, June 25-27, 2018. The conference organizers invite proposals that explore existing ways in which the future is mobilized, technologically mediated, and economically exploited; that map the manifold ways it is contested both in discourse and in action; and that reflect on the extent to which new technologies ironically undermine our faith in the future.

Learn More

@THE_SNET

twitter

The S.Net Board Members

Michael Bennett
Arizona State University
mgbenne1@asu.edu
Marianne Boenink
University of Twente
m.boenink@utwente.nl
Ana Delgado
University of Oslo
ana.delgado@tik.uio.no
Clare Shelley-Egan
Oslo and Akershus University
clare.shelley-egan@afi.hioa.no
Chris Toumey
University of South Carolina
toumey@mailbox.sc.edu
Poonam Pandey
Jawaharlal Nehru University
p.pandey23@gmail.com
Christopher Coenen (ITAS)
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
christopher.coenen@kit.edu
Colin Milburn
University of California, Davis
cnmilburn@ucdavis.edu
Kornelia Konrad
University of Twente
k.e.konrad@utwente.nl
Nora Sørensen Vaage
Maastricht University
Nora.Vaage@uib.no
Maria Belen Albornoz
FLASCO Sede Ecuador
balbornoz@flacso.edu.ec